Mississippi

From Our Property Taxes

Jump to: navigation, search
State of Mississippi Property Taxes

Community Forum for Mississippi


Link to your County
Msstate.png
Template:Mississipicounties
State Tax Summary
Ms seal.jpg
In the state of Mississippi, real property tax is called Ad Valorem Tax. The official valuation standard is that True value shall mean and include but shall not be limited to market value, cash value, actual cash value, proper value and value for the purposes of appraisal for ad valorem taxation. Mississippi Statutes, as amended. All real and personal property on January 1 in Mississippi is subject to property tax unless exempt under federal or state law. Taxes are imposed by county, municipality and school districts. There is no property tax at the state level. Until June 30, 2006, each county levied a 9 cents per acre levy on each forest acre for timber and uncultivatible lands. Uncultivatible land includes mine areas, costal beach sands, tidal and freshwater marshes, bogs and beaver ponds.

Mississippi has property tax exemptions for seniors, low-income taxpayers and disabled homeowners. Taxpayers must submit an application for an exemption. The state has documentation at http://www.mstc.state.ms.us/NewRules/Part%20VI%20property.pdf

Special exemptions are available for victims of Hurricane Katrina. Mississippi has a four-step appeal process. There are personal exemptions for homeowners, senior citizens and disabled taxpayers. The St. Petersburg Area Service Center (ASC) provides tax service for Mississippi.

Contents

Responsible agency

  • Mississippi State Tax Commission
  • Property Tax Bureau/Ad Valorem Tax Division
  • PO Box 960
  • Jackson, Mississippi 39205-0960
  • Voice (601) 359-1076
  • FAX (601) 359-5519
  • http://www.mstc.state.ms.us/index.html

Property Tax Calendar

Assessment date

January 1

Valuation Notices

Notices are sent during summer months if a change in value or reappraisal occurs.

Appeal Deadline

Taxpayers may file objections with the County Board of Supervisors on first Monday in August of each year.

Bill Payment Date

Taxes are due February 1

Property tax rates and dates

Annual assessment of real property

Yes

Classification of property

All residential assessed at 10%

Collections

Taxes are collected one year in arrears

Fiscal year

January 1 through December 31

Level of collection

County treasurer

Level of government responsible for assessment

County

Reassessment cycle

Every year

Tax Calculation Rate

Assessed Value x Mill Rate = Tax amount. Annually, City Councils and Local Boards of Supervisors establish the mil rate.

Residential Exemptions

Exemption claims must be filed to receive exemption from specially treated property or for property tax refunds. All properties used for housing the elderly, disabled, or mentally impaired exclusively are exempt from property taxes.

Construction in Progress

Taxpayers are exempt for any new constructed single-family homestead until the dwelling is leased, rented, sold, or occupied.

Homestead

Taxpayers must file for a Homestead Exemption to receive a reduced assessed value. With the exemption, the assessed value is 10% of appraised value. Without an exemption, the assessed value is 15% of appraised value.

Regular Homestead

Taxpayers under the age of 65 are eligible for an additional $240 credit on property taxes based on the assessed value of the property.

Senior, Social Security Disability, Disabled, Veteran and Blind

For senior citizens over 65, persons with SS Disability, disabled, a veteran or blind are entitled to exemptions on assessed value up to $6,000. When the assessed value exceeds $6,000, the taxpayer must property taxes on any value over $6,000.

Commercial Exemptions

Agriculture property exemption

Any agricultural farm products grown in Mississippi and to the producer, products and materials to feed livestock, tools and machinery to cultivate or harvest crops, and property used for promoting objects at fairs are exempt.

Libraries

Libraries of individuals, public libraries and the property they are on and any qualifying property that belongs to a museum, art gallery or public library is exempt from property tax.

Mining oil and gas property

Oil or gas producing equipment, wells, connections, pumps and derricks are exempt. Oil or gas produced under ground on producing property is exempt.

Timberland

Tools and machinery used to cultivate and harvest timber; standing timer, trees and shrubs; and severed timber, trees and shrubs in the log state are exempt from property tax.

Tax Collector and Officials

Mississippi has 1,527 tax assessors; 250 are elected to four-year terms; 1277 are appointed to indefinite terms. The county treasurer collects current and delinquent property tax. County Assessors maintain and set property valuations. The County Auditor certifies property valuations.

Forms

To claim the taxpayer refunds for homeowners and exemptions, taxpayers must contact their county assessors office, not the state office. Additional help, including property tax help is on the state website http://www.mstc.state.ms.us/taxareas/property/main.htm

Forms due dates

The Clerk of the Board of Supervisors must send all applications for exemptions to the Tax Commission no later than June 1. All applications must be sent at one time. Applications for deductions against real property must be filed with an affidavit to the local tax collector in Mississippi by May 1 and must be filled again if the property changes owners. All deductions for real property require that the ownership must be recorded as of March 1 of the assessment year for taxes payable the following year.

Manufactured and mobile homes must be owned by January 1 to be eligible for the deductions to be applied to the tax bill for that year.

State assessor's manual

  • State of Mississippi Appraisal Manual
  • Mississippi State Tax Commission
  • Property Tax Division
  • PO Box 1033
  • Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1033
  • Phone (601) 923-7631
  • Price $25.00

How property tax determined

Residential property is assessed at 10% of market value and the assessor determines the fair market value. Mobile homes may be assessed as real property only when the owner of the mobile home is also the assessed owner of the land on which the mobile home sits. Most mobile homes are taxed as personal property. The assessor may use three methods.

Cost Approach

At current labor and material prices, estimate how much it would take to replace the property with one similar to it. Use this method when there are no sales of comparable properties.

Income Approach

For an apartment or office building, estimate how much income the property can produce.

Market Approach

Use other comparable properties that have sold recently, determine the most probable sales price of the subject property.

Appeal Procedure

Mississippi has a three-step appeal procedure.

First

Meet at an informal meeting with local county tax assessor to resolve the issue, if a taxpayer needs to appeal their tax statement.

Second

File a written protest to the County Board of Supervisors, if the informal meeting with the local county tax assessor is not successful.

Third

Appeal to the Circuit Court of Appeals in the county in Mississippi where the property is located. All administrative appeals must be taken before requesting a judicial review. All current property taxes must be paid before the state will hear the case.

Additional tax classifications

Commercial property tax

Commercial real estate is Class II and assessed at 15% of market value. Public Utilities is Class IV and assessed at 30% of market value.

Personal property tax

Personal property is Class III and taxed at 15% of market value. If a personal property tax bill is not paid by the due date, the tax collector must collect the unpaid tax by distress and sale of the personal property.

Additional tax bills and charges

Corrected bill

When an error is found on the original tax statement or when property owners go before the Board of Review, resulting in tax increases or decreases, a correct bill is issued when the corrections are made. Corrected bills are also issued when levy rates are wrong, the house is on the wrong tax lot and for homeowner exemption.

Delinquent taxes

Delinquent balances are applied to subsequent bills. A taxpayer may apply to have late charges, interest and property taxes canceled due to undue hardship or property damaged by a casualty loss event . No notices are sent for delinquent taxes in Mississippi.

Penalty and Interest charges

Homesteads are assessed 1% penalty on payments missed starting on February 2. Mississippi requires property owners to reimburse state agencies for sale and advertising fees.

Special Assessment Bills

A local entity may issues a special assessment bill for nuisance or infrastructure charges. These bills are due 30 days from the date of issue. Bills may also be issued when a homestead exemption is removed.

Tax liens

Property tax liens are attached as of January 1 each year on the assessment date. A property tax lien may be removed by payment of the property tax liability.

Current Legislation and Pending Issues

References





Whos here now:   Members 0   Guests 0   Bots & Crawlers 1