Louisiana

From Our Property Taxes

Jump to: navigation, search
State of Louisiana Property Taxes

Community Forum for Louisiana

Link to your County
Lastate.png
Acadia - Allen - Assumption - Avoyelles - Beauregard - Bienville - Bossier - Caddo - Calcasieu - Caldwell - Cameron - Catahoula - Claiborne - Concordia - DeSoto - East Baton Rouge - East Carroll - East Feliciana - Evangeline - Franklin - Grant - Iberia - Iberville - Jackson - Jefferson - Jefferson Davis - Joseph - Lafayette - Lafourche - Lasalle - Lincoln - Livingston - Madison - Morehouse - Natchitoches - Orleans - Orleans - Orleans - Orleans - Orleans - Orleans - Ouachita - Plaquemines - PointeCoupee - Rapides - RedRiver - Richland - Sabine - St John the Baptist - St Landry - St Martin - St Mary - St Tammany - StBernard - StCharles - StHelena - StJames - Tangipahoa - Tensas - Terrebonne - Union - Vermilion - Vernon - Washington - Webster - West Baton Rouge - West Carroll - West Feliciana - Winn -
State Tax Summary
La seal.jpg
Real property tax is called property tax in the state of Louisiana. The state of Louisiana has sixty-four parishes, with the parish treasurer as the ex-officio collector in all parishes. The tax calculation rate is (Assessed Value x 10% - Exemptions) X Mill Rate = Taxes due. The Property Tax assessors assess property and are elected to four year terms . The Louisiana Finance Deparment appoints collector to collect city taxes . The sheriffs are elected to four year terms and collect parish taxes .

Costs for local services are spread each year across the value of taxable property. The Louisiana Statutes of 1950, Title 33, authorized the levy of property taxes by parishes and cities. Actual cash value is the value of any real or personal property assesed for taxation. Property subject to advalorem taxes will be listed as a percentage of fair market value.. The Louisiana State Tax Commission http://www.latax.state.la.us/ may assist local governments for compliance with the law and to ensure property tax assessments are fair. The tax commission does not collect or use property taxes. Property taxes are determined by the final tax rate as a result of budgets established to provide services, an assessor's assessment, a county auditor's calculations, and laws administered by the Louisiana State Tax Commission http://www.latax.state.la.us/. Property assessment in Louisiana is a series of events that takes 18 months from start to finish. The Louisiana property tax is a tax on land, buildings, structures, and other improvements attached to the land, or placed upon a foundation. Typical improvements may be a building, house or mobile home, fences, and paving. The state of Louisiana has personal exemptions for homeowners and agricultural use valued based on its income or productivity. Property owners who disagree with the assessed valuation have six levels of appeal: 1. file a protest with assessor within 15 days; 2. Appeal to the Board of Review or Poikce Jury by deadline advertised; 3. Appeal decision to Louisiana Tax Commission within 10 days; 4. Appeal to the Judicial Court within 30 days; 5. Appeal to Louisiana Circuit Court, determined by judges' court dockets; and 6. File a final appeal with the Supreme Court. The state agency is Louisiana Tax Commission, P.O. Box 66788, 5420 Corporate Blvd, Suite 107, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70896 (225) 925-7830; Fax (504) 925-7827. Local assessor contact information is listed at http://www.louisianaassessors.org/Assessors/Assessors.htm. There is a state issued assessor's manual, Louisiana Assessor's Manual, is available for $18.00 from Louisiana Tax Commision. The Dallas ASC (Area Service Center) provides tax service for Louisiana

Contents

Assessment dates and rates

  • Assessment date : January 1, except August 1 in Orleans Parish
  • Fiscal year : July 1 through June 30 for parishes and cities;

January 1 through December 31 for New Orleans

  • Reassessment cycle: Four years
  • Classification of property : Residential is Class I; Class I assessed at 10% assess value for real property and 10% assessed value for the land
  • Level of government responsible for assessment: Parish and municipalities
  • Economic Loss Dates: One billing for parish: Due December 30

One billing for New Orleans: Due January 31 NOTE: When taxing authorities mail tax bills late, they adjust due dates accordingly .

  • Tax Collector and Officials: The Property Tax assessors assess property and they are elected to four year terms . The Louisian Finance Deparment appoints the collectors to collect city taxes . The sheriffs are elected to four year terms and collect parish taxes .

Personal Exemptions

Exemption claims must be filed to receive exemption from specially treated property. Homeowners must file to be eligible for a $75,000 exemption at fair market value of 160 acres of land and their home. This exemption does not apply to municipal taxes, but may be granted by the state, parish and district.

  • Homestead Exemption

Homeowners must file to be eligible for a $5,000 exemption at fair market value of their home.

  • Veterans Exemption

Veterans that are homeowners must file to be eligible for a $5,000 exemption at fair market value of their home.

  • Surviving spouse or minor children

Homeowners must file to be eligible for a $5,000 exemption at fair market value of their home as a surviving spouse or with minor children, under 18 years of age.

  • Renters Relief

Renters with a residential lease may apply for a credit or rebate for property taxe relief.

  • Seniors Exemption Homeowners, 65 years or older in the year taxes assessed, must file to be eligible for a $5,000 exemption at fair market value of their home.
  • Damaged or destroyed property deferment

As of January, 2006, there may be a deferment of Louisiana property tax payments in case of public disaster or calamity. There will be no taxes due for any land, property, building, structure or personal property, during the year in which the event occurred. The property owner must make a sworn statement no later than December 31 of the year in which the damage occurred, or 30 days after the tax bill was mailed.

Forms

Specific deduction claim forms are available from the county auditor or on the Louisiana State Tax Commission, http://www.latax.state.la.us/ Ad Valorem Tax Division, 800 Park Plaze IV, Boise, Louisiana 83722 or the website http://www.id.gov/icpr/webfile/formsdiv/dlgf.html. Property owners may file self-reporting forms for assessors to determine fair market value. The forms must be returned to assessors by April 1 or 45 days after receipt, whichever is later, except in Jefferson Parish. Property owners in Jefferson Parish must return forms within 45 days of receipt. A property owner may request an extension to file, not to exceed 30 days. A property owner forfeits his right to contest if he does not make a filing on time.

Commercial Exemptions

  • Public service companies Within 30 days of notice, a public service company may file a protest with the Commission to object to the assessed valuation by the Commission. Taxes payment is due in full, but the Commission will grant a hearing within 180 days of the filing of the protest.

How property tax determined

  • Residential property is assessed at 10% of market value and the assessor determines the fair market value. The assessor can use three methods:
  • Cost Approach at current labor and material prices, estimate how much it would take to replace the property with one similar to it. Use this method when the building is new, unique or no sales date for comparable properties.
  • Income Approach for an apartment or office building, estimate how much income the property can produce, when sufficient rental market information is available.
  • Sales Approach using other comparable properties that have sold recently, determine the most probable sales price of the subject property, when there are substantial sales.

How to prepare and Appeal and File

  • Valuation Notices : Notices are NOT mailed but available for the public to view ad valorem assessment information in parish books. Dates are listed in local newspapers annually .
  • Appeal Procedure or Level :

Any property owner or aggrieved taxpayer has six levels of protest. A taxpayer must pay in protest before his case is heard before the courts.

  • Appeal Calendar : 30 days from posted assessment rate notice in parish books

Personal property tax

  • Classification of property: Class II
  • Assessment rate: The personality class is assessed at 10% of assessed value for improvement for reisdential purposes.

Commercial property tax

  • Classification of property: Commercial and Industrial does not have a class.

Assessment rate

  • Public Service is 25% assessed value; Other is 15% assessed value

Agricultural property tax

  • Classification of property Agricultural is not in separate class.
  • Assessment rate : Assessed at 10% of usage
  • Agricultural, horticultural, marsh land and timber land are assessed at 10% of use value.

Agriculture machinery and implements, crops, farm animals and products and farm product market faciliteis may be exempt or has special treatment.

Additional tax bills and charges

  • Corrected bil When an error results in a partial release or omissions, a new bill is issued any time during the year. Taxpayers have 30 days to pay the correct bill amount.
  • Special Assessment bills

Taxpayers receive special assessment bills with property tax bills. These have the same due date as property taxes; however, if the first installment is delinquent, the full amount plus interest is due .

  • Penalty and Interest charges

All parishes and cities charge 12% yearly or % per month for late payment,after December 31. New Orleans City charges 12% interest yearly, or 1% per month, plus 3% penalty beginning February 1 . A 30% collection fee is added to all accounts that are delinquent .

  • Delinquent taxes: The interest on delinquent ad valorem taxes begins December 21 of every year. From December 31 of the year taxes are delinquent, the interest accrues until taxes are paid. There is no data available if delinquent notices are sent when property taxes in Louisiana are late .
  • Construction Work in Progress: Louisiana has no statutes to collect taxes for work in progress.
  • Mobile homes : If mobile homes are in a home park or affixed on a tract of land, they are assessed as real property at 10% assessment .
  • Leased property: Leased property has some provisions for taxes in Louisiana parishes.

When property is leased for at least 5 years, and compliant with health and sanitary codes, with a lease for $1 or less to house the homeless, the property may be exempt from ttaxes. Properties may also be exempt if they are used for religious and scientific organizations, a nonprofit hospital, and property leased to a private company when the property would vest in the public and used for a public purpose as set in the Louisisana Constitution.

Equalization

The Louisiana Tax Commission equalizes property values. The Commission reviews, examines and compares property taxes. The Commission will order an equalization remedy if inequities are found.

Omitted Property

For Louisiana, the listing of real property is the responsibility of the parish and the taxpayer must list personal property. Omitted real property is listed by the appraiser and submitted to the county clerk and back taxes may be assessed for three years only. A taxpayer must be allowed 10 days after a supplemental tax assessment is published, to protest. The assessment becomes final if the taxpayer does not protest.

References





Whos here now:   Members 0   Guests 0   Bots & Crawlers 1